I think that I found myself (as a Cheerleader)

So who woulda known that the girl with the least amount of rhythm and no experience in dance of gymnastics would find herself to be a cheerleader in the land down under? I certainly did not!!

As I have many friends who are dancers and cheerleaders, I love going to see them perform and love their stories about it. I always wished that I had the talent to do it. I found out during orientation week at Bond Uni, however, that you can audition for the cheerleading team without any prior experience or skills and I figured why not? At the least of it I would embarrass myself in front of people I didn’t know and had the chance to go far outside of my comfort zone. And trust me, tryouts were definitely a huge challenge and way outside of my comfort zone. I don’t really like dancing in public, nor do I have any sense of Rythm of multitasking dance moves, and as we learned the routine very fast, I struggled. I thought I was awful and wouldn’t make the team but was proud of myself for trying.


To my surprise, a few days later I received an email saying I had made the promo cheer squad!!! There are three levels of the cheer team: promo, elite, and Pom. Pom and elite are the more talented ones with experience that compete, promo does not compete but goes to the rugby games and spreads school spirit. 


Tonight I had my first practice, which to be honest, I was extremely nervous for leading up to it. As excited as I was to be on the team and have the chance to meet more people and try a new workout, I was afraid I wasn’t going to be able to keep up with it. Tonight we tried our first round of stunting, in which I was placed as a flyer!! I was SO nervous at first, but my bases and back had already been on the team and knew exactly what they were doing and were able to give me some great advice and help me overcome my fears. Overall I did much better than I thought I ever could do, let alone on my first night. Thanks to my wonderful teammates, I am so excited to be a part of this team for the semester and try one more new thing beyond my comfort zone!!

Leave a Reply

